Nominations open for the 2015 Gilbert Medal and U21 Awards

01 September 2014
Take the opportunity to nominate people to be considered for U21's prestigious Gilbert Medal or U21 Awards in 2015!

The U21 Awards and the Gilbert Medal have been awarded by since 2012 and are designed to celebrate outstanding contributions to internationalisation of higher education, both within and outside of the U21 network.  

Nominations are now open for both accolades, with the deadline for submissions of 19 September 2014.


U21 Awards 

The U21 Awards are awarded to individuals from within the U21 network. They recognise individual efforts towards particularly innovative or extraordinary projects which further internationalisation, or sustained and prolonged contribution to building relations between U21 members to support internationalisation. Two awards are presented annually at the U21 AGM.

This will be the fourth year in which U21 Awards are presented (2012: Karen Gardener of UBC and Göte Hansson of Lund; 2013 Xu Qian of Fudan and Jenny McGregor of Melbourne, 2014: Martyn Poliakoff of Nottingham and James Murdoch of Glasgow). We now seek nominations for the 2015 recipients.

Nominations for the U21 Awards are welcome from all individuals within U21. To nominate a U21 individual for this award, please complete the U21 Award form below and return it to U21 Secretary General, Jane Usherwood (


Gilbert Medal

We award the Gilbert Medal to someone outside the U21 network. This award recognises outstanding and significant achievement in the internationalisation of higher education. One Gilbert Medal is presented annually at the U21 AGM.

The Gilbert Medal is named in honour of our founding chair, the late Professor Alan Gilbert who was Vice Chancellor of the University of Melbourne from 1996 to 2004. 

The first recipient was Dr Allan Goodman, CEO of the Institute for International Education: the 2013 Gilbert Medal was awarded to Dr Jane Knight of the University of Toronto for her academic work in defining internationalisation in the context of higher education and in 2014 the Medal was awarded to Dr Domenico Lenarduzzi, founder of the Erazmus programme and honorary Director-General of the Directorate General of Education and Culture at the European Commission. 

Please note that only U21 Presidents may nominate individuals for the Gilbert Medal.

To nominate an external individual for this award, please complete the Gilbert Medal form below and return it to U21 Secretary General, Jane Usherwood (


The deadline for both the U21 Award and the Gilbert Medal nominations is 19 September 2014. All nominations will then be considered during the next Managers' meeting, taking place in Melbourne in October.