2014 Three Minute Thesis Competition

02 July 2014
Can you explain your thesis to an international audience of non-specialists in your subject in three minutes? Then the U21 3MT competition is for you!

Following the highly successful inaugural U21 3MT competition last year, the 2014 competition has now been launched in a bid to find the best three minute thesis video from across the U21 network.  Each U21 university is invited to run an internal competition, challenging PhD students to summarise their thesis findings in a video lasting no more than three minutes, and the winners of each university competition will be put forward to the U21 network-wide final.

As in last year’s competition, there will be three prizes – a first prize of a travel bursary of US$2,500, with a second prize of US$500 and a ‘People’s Choice’ prize of US$300.  The judging panel will be:

  • Associate Professor Caroline Daley, Dean of Graduate Studies, University of Auckland (and U21 DDoGS chair)
  • Phil Baty, Editor-at-large, Times Higher Education
  • Dr Jani Brouwer, Director of Research and PhD Programs, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
  • Dr Allan Goodman, CEO Institute of International Education (and 2012 Gilbert Medal Awardee) 
  • Dr Patrick Chu, Chairman of 99Scholars (an academic event platform for research scholars) and UNSW alumnus. 

99Scholars will also be sponsoring an additional prize this year: they will work with the People’s Choice winner to create an animated video of their presentation which can be used to promote their work in an innovative way online and via social media.  99Scholars will also provide the other two winners with top tips for raising their online research profile.  

More details can be found via the link below, or ask your graduate school for information about the local competition at your university.