U21 3MT 2013 Prize-winners Announced

29 October 2013
Three candidates from 18 finalists have been awarded prizes following the decision of the U21 3MT judging panel and a public vote.

Universitas 21 is delighted to announce that three individuals have been awarded prizes following our network’s first annual Three Minute Thesis Competition. First developed by the University of Queensland in 2008, the Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) challenges doctoral students to communicate the significance of their research to a non-specialist audience in just three minutes.

17 Universitas 21 universities ran local competitions, the winners of which competed in the final that was held virtually. Each candidate was asked to prepare a video of their presentation, which was put online for judgement by both a panel of experts and also by the general public.

The winners are as follows:

  • First Place – Jamie Gallagher of University of Glasgow
  • Highly Commended – Nellie Linander of Lund University
  • People’s Choice - Lindsey Brinton of University of Virginia

For more information please download the full press release below, or visit the 3MT page: