SEC 2017

The sixth iteration of the SEC took place took place in Ecuador this year with 10 delegates participating from six member institutions (University of Edinburgh, University of Connecticut, National University of Singapore, University of Birmingham, University of Melbourne and the University of Queensland).

Prior to the fieldwork element of the programme, delegates attended a series of in-country orientation sessions and lived with home-stay families where they undertook technical training sessions and Spanish lessons. Following this, students traveled to ‘Satellite Sites’ to work with small micro-consignments - APEOSAE (Federación de Pequeños Exportadoes
Agropecuarios Orgánicos del Sur de la Amazonía Ecuadoriana) - a non-profit association comprising 150 producers of coffee, cocoa and bananas, and Red de Jóvenes Panguintza, a youth group in the community of Pangutinza.

Further information is available in the detailed report linked at the end of the page.